Culture & History

With a classical Chinese garden history of 5000 years, Meditation Garden has collected rare stones worldwide and old, rare architectures in Ming and Qing Dynasties. Walking in Meditation Garden, is like walking through a cultural corridor, like ascending to the top layer of an art palace, like entering a place where one expects to go day and night and like being at the entrance to a place of meditation. There are no other concerns than meditation.

Meditation Garden has collected a stone which Emperor Qianlong called “No. One Stone” and other rare stones and preserved old, rare architectural complexes built in Ming and Qing Dynasties such as Hall of Heavenly Kings of Shanghai Town God Temple (purlin of Shanghai Xiaodaohui Association) and Jiepu Fengyuan Guild Hall of Guangdong. It is like nature itself and has a style of its own. One can appreciate stones to inspire thinking and appreciate ancient architectures to cultivate and express emotions. With cultures and touchable histories everywhere, one can cultivate his minds as if in a land of idyllic beauty.

The construction of Meditation Garden was taken for ten years. It has perfectly integrated the classic philosophy of “learning from nature and paying attention to harmony between the heaven and human” with modern garden building techniques so that one can cultivate his temperament as if aloof from worldly affairs. The horticulture is delicate and reveals workmanship in tiny points. It has inherited the peak gardening art of Ming and Qing Dynasties and incorporated modern aesthetics and techniques. So it is harmonious, gorgeous. majestic, modest and elegant. It combines emotion with scenery and visible elements with invisible elements. Human civilization originated from nature. A garden is an artificial nature, or second nature as Engels called. Meditation Garden is a “second nature” with classicism and modernism combined perfectly and has embodied culture and art to extremes. To visit Meditation Garden is to enter a world of meditation. It is a place filled with ancient and modern cultures and arts inspired by nature.

Meditation Garden of Wujiang was an intimation of Humble Administrator Garden and became a landscape after ten years of construction. Someone says, “A mountain without stones is not strange, a river without stones is not lipid, a garden without stones is not graceful and a room without stones is not elegant.” Meditation Garden is a place where stones can tell you histories.

In Meditation Garden, you can see rare stones collected from other places such as Lingbi stones from Anhui, woodstone from Xinjiang, Youlan stone from Guangxi, Yingde stone from Guangdong and Taihu stones from Jiangsu. More than 90% of the more than 3000 rare stones are Lingbi stones. “Lingbi stones are famous for its grotesqueness. It sounds like copper and feels like jade”. Among various stones, Lingbi stones, which are on the top of “four famous stones”, are Mr. Chen Jingen’s favorite. Produced from Panshi Mountains, Lingbi County, Anhui Province and perfect in sound, shape, texture and color, Lingbi stones were called “No. One Stone in the World” by Emperor Qianlong of Qing Dynasty.

In Meditation Garden stands a gigantic Lingbi stone called “Qingyun Peak”, 9.1 meters in height, 2.95 meters in width, 2.24 meters in thickness, 136 tons in weight and with more than 1600 holes in its body. It was brought to light in 2001 and set a Guinness World Record for its size. According to historical materials, this stone was discovered as early as in the reign of Emperor Huizong of Song Dynasty. Emperor Qianlong of Qing Dynasty had attempted to excavate and convey it to Yu Garden but eventually failed due to restrictions in exploitation capacity and transportation conditions. Chen Jingen went to Lingbi County, Anhui Province for eight times. Through investigations in person and cooperation with local stone workers for three years, he finally rediscovered this “precious stone” which had been sealed for one thousand years. During these three years, labor costs alone had exceeded 400 thousand yuan. In order to express appreciation for the support and assistance offered by the local people in excavation, Chen Jingen showed more than 20 films for them.

“Qingyun Peak” was discovered in a gorge called “Langwozhang”. The mountain is high but with no paths. The river is deep but with no bridges. In order to carry this gigantic stone of 136 tons from thousands miles away to Meditation Garden, Chen Jingen constructed a road of five kilometers and built two bridges locally. Then it was shipped by a super-long platform lorry of 25 meters produced by the Soviet Union for conveying guided missiles and a hoister for constructing Yangpu Bridge of Shanghai. The traffic is heavy and complicated in the daytime so it had to be transported at night. Through tremendous hardships for 55 days and nights, they finally carried this “precious stone” to Meditation Garden safe and sound. Hence, Qingyun Peak has become the most precious treasure of the garden.

X

文化历史

静思园,承袭中国园林五千年的历史芳华,园内网罗天下奇石和明清古旧珍稀建筑,行走静思园,如行走文化之长廊,如登入艺术殿堂之顶层,如临心中昼夜期许之境界,如入世间冥想境地之法门。除静除思,别无他顾

静思园藏乾隆御封“天下第一石”等天下奇石,存留上海城隍庙天王殿(上海小刀会正堂),内藏广东揭普丰原会馆等明清珍稀古建筑群,浑然天成,自成一体。赏石励志,古建怡情。以随处可见的文化和伸手可触的历史,让人养性静思,如进世外桃源之境。

静思园,十年成园,将“师法自然和崇尚天人合一”的古典哲学与现代园林筑造技艺完美融合,合二为一,让人如在出世隐逸之中入世养性,园艺精致,于细微之处见功夫,沿袭明清园林顶峰艺术,融汇现代美学、技法,和谐但不失艳丽,磅礴而又稳重典雅,寓情于景、虚实相生。人类文明起源于自然, 园林是人造自然,亦即恩格斯所说的第二自然,静思园,就是这样一个古典与现代完美结合的“第二自然”,是文化与艺术最见功底的体现。“游静思园,入静思境,文化艺术,古今自然。

静思园,“师出拙政园,十年成一景”。有人说,“山无石不奇,水无石不清,园无石不秀,室无石不雅。”静思园,就是这样一个石头会说史的地方。

在静思园内随处可见天下奇石,有安徽的灵璧石、新疆的木化石、广西的幽兰石、广东的英石、苏苏的太湖石等等,园内奇石3000余块,90%以上为灵璧石。“灵璧一石天下奇,声如青铜色碧玉”,在形形色色的石头中,静思园收藏最多的是“四大名石”之首的灵璧石。它产自安徽省灵璧县磬石山一带,以声、形、质、色”、纹诸美皆备,被清帝乾隆封为“天下第一石”

静思园中就矗立着一块叫“庆云峰”的灵璧巨石,高9.1米,宽2.95米,厚2.24米,重136吨,周身有1600多个孔。2001年问世,创造了灵璧石大世界基尼斯之最的纪录。文史记载,早在宋徽宗时期,就现此石,清乾隆皇帝曾试图挖掘置之御园,由于开采能力与运输条件有限只好作罢。为挖此石公司八赴灵璧,考察论证,并与当地石农合作,历时三年终使这块尘封千年的“美石”得以重见天日。三年间,三年间,仅人工就花费了40余万元人民币。

由于“庆云峰”被发现在一个叫“狼窝掌”的山窝里,山高无路,水深无桥,为了将这块重136吨的巨石从千里之外运至静思园,在当地筑路5公里、造桥2座,后又借来当时苏联产的曾用于运送导弹的25米超长平板车以及上海造杨浦大桥的吊车起运。白天车多繁杂,只能等到午夜车少时运输,一路风雨兼程,历尽艰辛,整整运行了55个昼夜,方安然无恙地把这块“宝石”运抵静思园。于是,有了这“镇园之宝”——庆云峰。

X